Home

I found this recipe a while ago and I tried and well, it wasn’t too good. But I had a feeling it was more to do with me than with the recipe:

http://appetiteforpeace.com/spaghetti-alla-carbonara-the-vegan-corner/

So I gave it another go. And this is the best ever dish I have ever made!!!!

It is just simply amazing! I don’t really agree with calling it carbonara but regardless whatever the name should be it is amazing! 

I slightly changed the original recipe and mine is not vegan as I added a Parmigiano and some leftover feta cheese (as in like 10 grams for the whole portion!). I also added fresh parsley in the end, more for decoration reasons and because I just love parsley.

The recipe says onion and garlic granules which I replaced with fresh onion and garlic; why use granules when the real thing is there?! 

The method is described in a video but it doesn’t seem to be available although it might just be on my phone. Anyway, my how to:

Slice the courgettes to little pieces imitating bacon or pancetta and fry them in a pan until they’re slightly brownish and somewhat crispy and put them aside.

I grated the onion, 2 garlic cloves and 2 carrots in a food processor to make it near creamy. Then mixed it with Miso paste and put the mix in a frying pan. Add some water and almond milk (or any other milk or cream) to make it creamy and stirring it often cook it for around 7 minutes. In the meantime boil the spaghetti as well and take it out of the water just before its al dante. Add paprika powder and a handful of nutritional yeast (you can leave this out if you don’t have it at home) and a handful of Parmigiano (this is the point when I added the feta too). Stir it well and add the pasta and cook it for another minute or two. Add the courgette and a handful of chopped parsley, stir it and it’s ready to be served or put in tubs for takeaway.

It’s around 450 kcal as well for a fairly decent portion so it’s not bad at all. And 2 of your 5 a day! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

