Home

I chose Mara Abbott as my favourite on Sunday’s women road cycling in Rio. I was gutted when she lost it at the very end (and I wasn’t happy about van Vleuten’s crash either)

Then googling her I found the below interview. It was taken a month ago and I just absolutely love her honesty about her struggles. I don’t know many athletes or just average people who can speak out loud about their struggles.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2016/jul/01/mara-abbott-womens-cycling-still-faces-an-uphill-struggle-giro-rosa

I was also shocked to learn the difference in earnings between male and female cyclists. I know there are differences and women usually get less but I didn’t expect this gap.

Photo credit: ESPN

Leave a Reply

