Home

I don’t consider myself an expert but I’ve read quite a lot about food in the last few years so I thought I have an extent knowledge. Oh dear, how wrong I was!
Amazon can surprise me most of the time, like when I was searching for rowing gloves and I found this:

image

So, back to food. I ordered nutritional yeast a month ago because I read it in a few recipes and I was really intrigued. It taste like a light, nutty cheese, amazing in sandwiches or on popcorn and it’s a source of B12 vitamin. So if you’re vegan and you don’t take vitamin supplements with B12 is a must for you. B12 can only be found in animal products but it’s vital for your body to absorb iron and keep your nervous system and brain functioning.
Because of nutritional yeast Amazon recommended other food supplements for me. I have never ever heard about these before…

image

I felt so dumb! It’s OK if I don’t know one or two but NONE?! I got on to Wikipedia and Google to check them out.
Psyllium Husk Powder:
Psyllium seed husks, also known as ispaghula, isabgol, or psyllium, are portions of the seeds of the plant Plantago ovata, (genus Plantago), a native of India, Bangladesh and Pakistan. They are hygroscopic, which allows them to expand and become mucilaginous.
Psyllium seed husk are indigestible and are a source of soluble dietary fiber. They are used to relieve constipation, irritable bowel syndrome, and diarrhea. They are also used as a regular dietary supplement to improve and maintain regular GI transit. The inert bulk of the husks helps provide a constant volume of solid material irrespective of other aspects of the diet or any disease condition of the gut. Some recent research has shown they may be effective in lowering cholesterol and controlling certain types of diabetes.
Other uses include gluten-free baking, where ground psyllium seed husks bind moisture and help make breads less crumbly.

Black Salt:
Kala Namak or Himalayan Black Salt, also known as Sulemani Namak, Black Salt, Bit Lobon or Kala Noon, is a type of rock salt, a salty and pungent-smelling condiment used in South Asia. Kala Namak is used extensively in South Asian cuisines of Bangladesh, India and Pakistan as a condiment or added to chaats, chutneys, salads, all kinds of fruits, raitas and many other savory Indian snacks. Those who are not accustomed to black salt often describe the smell as similar to rotten eggs. Kala Namak is considered a cooling spice in ayurveda and is used as a laxative and digestive aid.

Tempeh:
Tempeh is a traditional soy product originally from Indonesia. Tempeh’s fermentation process and its retention of the whole bean give it a higher content ofprotein, dietary fiber, and vitamins.

Liquid Aminos:
here are 20 standard amino acids that our bodies need to function normally. Twelve amino acids are manufactured by the human body, and eight, called essential amino acids, must come from our diets. You need all 20 amino acids because they are the building blocks of our organs and tissues. In order to obtain the essential amino acids your body doesn’t make on its own, you need to consume protein. Animal sources of protein (milk, eggs, meat, poultry, fish, and seafood) contain all the essential amino acids. Vegetarians or vegans can get all their amino acids by eating complete proteins — a vegetarian protein source plus a whole grain (such as rice and beans). It doesn’t matter what state your amino acids come in, solid or liquid. By eating enough protein, you can get all the amino acids you need that your body doesn’t produce.

And finally, GLUTEN
I must admit I’m puzzled. I know what gluten is. Gluten (from Latin gluten, “glue”) is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. But I had no idea why you’d want to buy gluten. It’s naturally in wheat products. You wouldn’t put it in gluten-free stuff because there’s no point. But it turns out you can add it to food that’s low in protein. It’s also a stabiliser and often the base of meat imitation products.

I think now we’re all well educated on food supplements. I can’t wait for my next Amazon ‘challenge’

Leave a Reply

