Home

Oddly, growth and goal-setting can feel like more work than dreaming of perfection. When we try to be perfect, we fail so often that we almost get used to it. After a while, we trick ourselves into believing that forecasting perfection is nobler than working toward goals. It is much easier to say, “I’ll be thin by December,” rather than “I’ll start eating healthy and exercising today.” Or “Things will be great when we get out of debt,” rather than “I won’t buy anything on the credit card this week.” When we set realistic objectives for meeting “growth goals,” we hold ourselves accountable for today, tomorrow and the day after tomorrow rather than postponing accountability until six months down the road.

When we set improvement goals and set measurable objectives to meet those goals, we can learn and grow from both missed and met objectives. If our goal is perfection, we will inevitably fail and that failure offers us nothing in terms of learning and change; it only makes us vulnerable to shame.

The above is from Brene Brown’s “I thought it was just me” which was yet another ‘running into the wall’ experience for me. That’s what I’ve been doing for a long time. I focused on future and planned for it but I didn’t actually achieve a lot… well, I’m a great planner by now…
So, here is my motivation wall (door) with things I have to do today and tomorrow and the day after tomorrow and then the result will come. Eeerm, have I been planning again???

image

Leave a Reply

